Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell…

A friend in the military and his unit made the following video in response to the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” military policy as pertaining to LGBTQ individuals [Praise for Obama and his efforts to repeal the act]. Although they claim to have made it to “change and open people’s minds about gays/lesbians in the military,” I question how eye opening this video really is.  Beyond the intentions behind making the video, which I admit is humorous, I wonder…

are they successful at trying to change peoples minds about being gay/lesbian in the military,?  or does the video just serve to reinforce dominant stereotypes that perpetuate the ideology of how homosexuals would act in the military? Is this clip successful at functioning as satirical parody??

I cannot speak for how members of the LGBTQ community view this video, but in my opinion, the video seems to rely on  the misnomer that all gays/lesbians are flamboyant, dancing, peeping-tom types.

What are your thoughts on this video, which was taken down by the commander of this unit, but resurfaced on YouTube recently…?   Does it serve a purpose as soldiers sticking up for the freedom and equality they are fighting for in Iraq, or, is it just soldiers having some good-intentioned fun that, unintentionally, serves to reinforce dominant, oppressive ideologies?

“There is nothing in someone’s sexual orientation that affects their love of country, their patriotism or their commitment to their fellow service members and our great nation,” said Assemblyman Nathan Fletcher, R-San Diego.  “And there is certainly nothing that affects their ability to give their life — many already have.”

I could not agree more, and hope that members of the LGBTQ community will be able to serve openly in the near future.

Comments
3 Responses to “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell…”
  1. Josh says:

    Look, you know who this is. Honestly, many people simply DO NOT CARE that gays/lesbians will serve. I have no problem with it. It’s something that needs do be done away with. The more numbers we have in our military, the better. Right? To demonaize this video to serve your own political purpose is wrong. This video is not ment in any way to be a weapon used to change peoples minds about DODT. It was my guys over here having fun in some spare time. A goofy video to make people laugh. It played on stereotypes just like EVERY MAJOR COMEDIC MEDIA SOURCE DOES! I don’t see how you think it’s okay to use deployed soldiers in any way for your own political agenda. I understand that you’re against all war, against all weapons, against the military, and against anything that you say to be wrong. But the whole reason you’re allowed to write this blog of yours, demonizing my brothers over here is BECAUSE of us. BECAUSE of what we do. Your political freedom is paid for in blood. Just because you don’t see it doesn’t mean it’s given to you freely. Its a common misconception with todays generation. They sit in the United States staring at the world through rose tinted lenses, watching from thousands of miles away. Until this liberal, protestor generation picks up a rifle, stands a post and does a patrol, the validity of this liberal generation’s accusations are founded on nothing more then what is witnessed on CNN. And whereas I know you are a very educated person, I would hope that you aren’t using MY brothers in arms over here in a war zone to achieve a personal vendetta with the politically conservative.

    “It is the soldier, not the reporter, Who has given us freedom of the press.
    It is the soldier, not the poet, Who has given us freedom of speech.
    It is the soldier, not the organizer, Who has given us the freedom to demonstrate.
    It is the soldier, Who salutes the flag, Who serves beneath the flag,
    And whose coffin is draped by the flag, Who allows the protestor to burn the flag.” – Father Dennis O’Brian, USMC, retired.

    • erinberman says:

      Josh,

      This commentary was not posted with the intention of “demonizing” the military, nor was it used to serve my own political agenda. It was not posted to be offensive or taken as disrespectful. I have the utmost respect for those who serve in the military and find it commendable for anyone who is willing to risk their lives for our country. The post was simply exploring the multiple messages that the video could be interpreted. It was my understanding that the video was made within the context of DADT, which has caused suppression of the GLBTQ group in the military, and I apologize if this was not correct. However, from a communication standpoint, the intentions behind making the video are irrelevant to the viewer. What IS relevant, therefore, is the message that the viewer receives. There could be multiple readings of the video, and I appreciate your elaborative response. I encourage people to disagree with issues I shed light on in this blog, as I believe that critique and debate are important tools in finding truth in an issue. However, please understand that in no way was this meant to demean the military, nor further any political agenda I have (hence the quote from the Republican assemblyman).

      Thank you for expressing your views and opinions! Take care

      • Josh says:

        Sorry for jumping so quickly to the hostile end of the spectrum. Being where I am at right now, I hope you can understand. It just bugs me to no end how alot of people (especially on the social side) like to say that the military is wrong and barbaric. It just bugs me (again, I’m sure you can imagine why). I, too, agree that we shouldn’t care that gays/lesbians serve. They’re no different then me or anyone who isn’t gay. That’s the difference with me. Although I’m NOT left wing, I don’t fall into the whole GOP ‘Religious Right’ as many would assume someone in the military would be. Hell, I’m sure Kacie has told you I don’t even believe in the christian god, the bible, or anything religious for that matter. So for me, it’s not a question of ethics, it’s a question of when the military is gonna stop segragating individuals based on sexual orientation. A gay man can pull the trigger just like a straight man. I mean, this is no different in my opinion then saying that blacks cant serve. It’s ignorance. And I’m happy to see that it’s coming to an end. It just opens up our military to alot more recruits. As for the vid, like I said, we just played on stereotypes that every major media source does. Why? Because its funny! I know the vid made you laugh a little. But that’s as far as it went. Just to make people laugh. Again, I’m sorry for jumping on you.

Leave a Reply

